Saturday, November 5, 2011

Canacona Shigmo float parade

POINGUINNIM: Bandoda Nagrik Samithi (BNS), won the first prize in the floats category of the government Shigmotsav celebration held on Tuesday at Canacona, while Valpoi Nagrik Samithi and Adpai Yuvak Sangh secured the second and third places respectively.
Siddhi Vinayak Mandal, Corlim and Trevini Kala Sangh, Durgabhat received consolation prizes, while all the remaining participants were given traveling allowance.
In the Romtamell section, Avedekar Samaj-Borim, won the first place, while Navadurga Gopalkrishna Mandal, also from Borim secured the second place.
In the folk dances (gents) Saraswati Kalamandir-Ponda bagged the first prize, while the second prize was secured by Kshatriya Komarpant Sangh-Canacona. The best ghumat performer award sponsored by Mr Ramesh Komarpant, in memory of his father, went to Kashinath Komarpant.
In the fancy dress competition, the winners were Adarsh Vishnu Naik, Swastik Naik and Saptaki Prabhugaonkar in the first, second and third place. Sayana Mirashi and Prarthamesh Pagi won consolation prizes.
The celebration was attended by DySP, Mr Rohidas Patre, chief officer of CMC, Mr Shollet Pereira, ZP member Poinguinnim, Mr Daya Pagi, CMC chairperson and president of the Shigmotsav Committee, Mr Ratnakar Dhuri, councillors Mr Hemant Gracias, Mr Simon Rebello and Mr Ramakant Gaonkar.
The former presidents of the Canacona Shigmotsav Committee, Mr Isidore Fernandes, Mr Sanjay Bandekar, Mr Balaji Desai, Mr Ramesh Komarpant, Mr Jagdish Acharya, Mr Sameer Desai and Mr Ranganath Naik Gaonkar, were felicitated at the hands of Marathi Academy president, Mr Narendra Azgaonkar.
The local folk artistes also were recognised for their work. They were felicitated at the hands of Mr Ratnakar Dhuri. They include Mr Dattu Pagi, Mr Anant Satarkar, Mr Sandesh Paoinkar, Mr Pradeep Gayak, Mr Malkum Gaonkar and Mr Manohar Jadhav.
Earlier, the floats parade was flagged off at Char-Rasta which then wended its way along the NH 17 to Nagorcem to Chauri and finally culminated at Dr Pundalik Gaitonde Complex at Chauri.
The organising secretary, Mr Venkatrai Naik welcomed and later, Mr Sashikant Poinginkar proposed the vote of thanks.

No comments: